Tags

, , , , ,

IMG_8566

The glass is here!

Actually what I can really see is exactly how much cleaning I am going to have to do…

IMG_8564

I think the installer’s name was Smeary McSmearerson.

Luckily, I have two children.  One appears to be fully indoctinated in the way of the broom, which leaves Newbie to learn the fine art of polishing.

IMG_8592

I got this. You – fetch Windex.

And he’s got his work cut out for him, because the shower glass has also gone in!

I want that glass polished until I can see my face in it!

I want that glass polished until I can see my camera in it!

Pugs inspecting Newbie's handiwork.

Pugs inspecting Newbie’s handiwork.

So new glass very exciting…but has also already given me several panic attacks I wasn’t anticipating.

The "My daughter is going to fall through the glass" panic attack....

The “My daughter is going to fall through the glass” panic attack….

And the "Glass?  What Glass? "vertigo panic attack.  And the “Glass? What Glass? “vertigo panic attack.

And speaking of things that I know logic says no to…

feets

I’ve told you hobbits, if you walk through paint, wipe your feet before you come inside!!

These came to light the other day.  Little footprints, a bit smaller that Pugsley’s.  If you look closely, there is a faint trail of them leading across the room, but they are clearest in front of the soon-to-be-fireplace.

Ghostie wanna scooter?

Ghostie wanna scooter?

About the time these appeared, Pugs started asking me if she could “let Alice in to play” whenever we were at the house.  Alice?  Alice?  Who the you’refreakingmeoutkid is Alice??

Midge is unconcerned.

The builders are slightly spooked.

They aren’t the ones who are going to be sleeping in this building soon.

h35DF663E

Slightly easier to explain is this…

IMG_8568

The logical explanation for this is Dom with a sledgehammer.

Bye-bye door!  Bye-bye steps!  Bye-bye windows!  Hellooooo new lounge room!

In case you can’t remember, this is what this area used to look like….

IMG_6065

Doors. Steps. Windows. Considerable more money in our pockets.

Getting rid of the doorway here is hopefully going to have two benefits – keeping out sand that blows straight across the road from the beach in a southerly, and keeping out randoms who still think this place is a surfshop/cafe.  I mean, I may make a good cuppa, but I’d like to be able to wander around in my manky old dressing gown without expecting someone to come in and ask for a double macchiato or some Mr Zog’s sex wax or something.

Now...

The new windows are also going to be almost a metre higher than the originals, so hopefully passersby won’t be able to peek in so easily.

After all, feeling like someone is watching you is a bit disconcerting, isn’t it?

maybe all that glass was a bad idea....

maybe all that glass was a bad idea….

